Where Falkland Islands Tour matches will be played




It might not seem like much to look at, but this is where Bracknell Town striker Liam Ferdinand will pull on an FA Representative shirt to play an international fixture.

The Robins striker is in the Falkland Islands to play a match for the FA against the Islanders on Saturday along with a squad led by England C manager Paul Fairclough and made up of players from across steps four and five of the English Football Pyramid.

The ground is located in the Islands capital Stanley, in East Falkland looking out Stanley Harbour with Government House in the background.

Stanley’s population at last count was 2,460, rough 72% of the entire Islands population.

A British Pathe clip shows a match underway on the same pitch in the 1960s. We’ve zipped forward to the match part of the three minute clip but you can start from the beginning as well:

The FA squad flew out on Wednesday for an 8,000 mile, 20 hour journey to the South Atlantic Ocean. The match is due to kick off at 6pm UK time or 3pm in the Falklands – the Islands are three hours behind the UK.

Football in Bracknell has had a sneak peak at the kits the players will be wearing here.

The Falkland Islands team

According to our contact at the Falkland Islands government, the Island squad will be selected by manager Troyd Bowles who is also the Chief Pilot for the Islands air service).

The squad to play the Football Association Representative Team is: Ross Peters, Gethin Morgan, Matias Reyes, Josh Peck, Jordan Philips, Dayne Gilson-Clarke, Claudio Ross, Aiden Morris, Kalon Jaffray, Andres Balladares, Declan Bonner, Wayne Clement, Jean Paul Escudero, Nathan Ashbridge, Ethan George, Michael Betts, Mauricio Jeria, Javier Sotomayor, Daniel Biggs, Tobi Adeoye, Matt Francis, Malachi Budd.

This, as we understand it is the FA squad: Charlie Ruff (Hertford Town), Carl Pearce (Northwood), Harry Curtis (St Paul’s, Jersey), Liam Ferdinand (Bracknell Town), Ibrahim Olutade (Hanwell Town), Mitchell Parker (Reading City, now Basingstoke Town), Olly Spooner (Basildon United), Jonathan Lacey (Leverstock Green), Louis Tibbles (Bury Town), Connor Wheatley (Basildon United), Leigh Bedwell (Didcot Town), Alex Brown (Buxton), Brendon Ocran (Barking), Alex Paine (Chalfont St Peter), Sam Ashford (Witham Town).

Related Topics
Football in Berkshire is a not for profit site run by volunteers. We feel though that sometimes people need rewarding for the hard work they put in and we wanted to let you know you can support our contributors individually if you so wish. Contributors to this article are as follows:
More Stories

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More Stories

Our Supporters


Get the latest Berkshire football news to your inbox
Search Football in Berkshire