Bracknell Town hold minutes silence in remembrance of former chairman




Bracknell Town’s players and supporters paid their respects to former chairman Dave Mihell on Saturday before the clubs game with Tuffley Rovers.

Mr Mihell sadly passed away over the Christmas period but was a well known and popular former chairman at Larges Lane who presided over one of the more successful periods in the clubs history during the late 80’s and through the 90’s when Bracknell won the then Isthmian League Division 3 and competed for several seasons in Division 2.

Bracknell Town's management team pay tribute to former chairman Dave Mihell. Photo: Neil Graham.
Bracknell Town’s management team pay tribute to former chairman Dave Mihell. Photo: Neil Graham.

FiB co-editor Darrell Freeland posted on our facebook page at the time: ‘Very sorry to hear of the passing of former Bracknell Town Football Club chairman Dave Mihell. Our thoughts are with his family and friends at this time. RIP Dave.’

The clubs former reserve team secretary and website editor Gareth Coates left a message on the post saying: “Dave asked me to get involved with Bracknell Town back in 1998 during his time in the Chair. He was a lovely man and a good friend to me; he would often give me a lift to Martins Heron station after midweek matches at Larges Lane so I would make the last train home!

“As well as presiding over a relatively successful period in Bracknell Town’s history, Dave was passionate about other sports too. He was a cricket umpire and also involved with local hockey.

“He will be missed by all who knew him.”

Dave’s funeral takes place at Easthampstead Park Crematorium on Friday 27th January 2017 at 12.45pm.

Main photo: Bracknell Town hold a minutes silence for former chairman Dave Mihell by Neil Graham.

Related Topics
Football in Berkshire is a not for profit site run by volunteers. We feel though that sometimes people need rewarding for the hard work they put in and we wanted to let you know you can support our contributors individually if you so wish. Contributors to this article are as follows:
More Stories

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More Stories

Our Supporters


Get the latest Berkshire football news to your inbox
Search Football in Berkshire