Proposed Uhlsport Hellenic League divisions for 2017/18 announced



Uhlsport Hellenic Football League logo.


Following the previous release of the constitutions for steps one to four, the FA have now released the proposed constitutions for steps five and six including of course the Uhlsport Hellenic League.

The proposals see a twenty team Premier Division with sixteen in Division One West and fifteen in Division One East with the biggest news seeing Windsor laterally moved from the Combined Counties Football League in the Hellenic Premier Division.

Wantage Town drop from the Evo-Stik Southern League South & West Division and will take the place of Thame United who were promoted as Premier Division winners.

Also moving into the Premier Division are Fairford Town and Abingdon United – winners and runners-up of Division One West respectively and Woodley United – runners-up in Division One East.

Related: See how the Hellenic League proposals compare to our predictions

The bottom two from last term – Henley Town and Burnham have been relegated into Division One East.

Talking of Division One East, Milton have been transferred from Division One West while Wallingford Town join the Hellenic League and Thame Youth and Virginia Water have been promoted into the division.

You will notice that Finchampstead are no longer in the Hellenic League following the previous news that they would drop into the Thames Valley League.

The proposed divisions in full are:

Premier Division

  • Abingdon United (promoted from D1W)
  • Ardley United
  • Ascot United
  • Binfield
  • Brackley Town Saints
  • Bracknell Town
  • Brimscombe & Thrupp
  • Fairford Town (promoted from D1W)
  • Flackwell Heath
  • Highmoor Ibis
  • Highworth Town
  • Longlevens
  • Lydney Town
  • Oxford City Nomads (reprieved)
  • Royal Wootton Bassett Town
  • Thatcham Town
  • Tuffley Rovers
  • Wantage Town (relegated from SL1SW)
  • Windsor (transferred from CCL)
  • Woodley United (promoted from D1E)

Total = 20 teams

Division One East

  • AFC Aldermaston
  • Burnham (relegated from  HLP)
  • Chalfont Wasps
  • Chinnor
  • Didcot Town Reserves
  • Headington Amateurs
  • Henley Town (relegated from  HLP)
  • Holyport (reprieved)
  • Milton United (transferred from D1W)
  • Penn & Tylers Green
  • Sandhurst Town
  • Thame Youth (promoted from SSM2)
  • Virginia Water (promoted from SEIL)
  • Wallingford Town (new team)
  • Wokingham & Emmbrook

Total = 15 teams

It’s worth noting that the proposed constitutions need to be ratified at the Hellenic League AGM on Sunday 2nd July and teams may appeal lateral movements.

However, the Toolstation Northern Counties East League membership voted against admitting Shaw Lane Aquaforce at their 2016 AGM but the FA imposed them on the league anyway so the precedent is there from the FA in terms of overruling individual leagues.

We’ve setup a new WhatsApp group allowing you to debate the local football issues with like minded individuals. You can find out how to join it here.

Related Topics
Football in Berkshire is a not for profit site run by volunteers. We feel though that sometimes people need rewarding for the hard work they put in and we wanted to let you know you can support our contributors individually if you so wish. Contributors to this article are as follows:
More Stories

1 thought on “Proposed Uhlsport Hellenic League divisions for 2017/18 announced”

  1. Pingback: Windsor expecting gates to rise by 40% after Hellenic League switch - Football in Bracknell

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More Stories

Our Supporters


Search Football in Berkshire