Revisions made to 2017/18 Hellenic Football League constitutions




The Uhlsport Hellenic Football League have issued a series of revisions to the divisions constitutions for the 2017/18 season.

Following rumours coming out of Burnham about a Hellenic Premier Division reprieve, the league have confirmed that the Bucks side will get another shot at step five.

The revision comes after the league revealed Premier Division side Ardley United had requested a voluntary demotion after 13 years in the Premier Division.

The relief of course for regular readers of FiB will be that none of the Berkshire contingent were on the move with the mouthwatering Premier group of Ascot United, Binfield, Bracknell Town, Highmoor-IBIS, Thatcham Town, Windsor and Woodley United all set to do battle next season.

Further changes have been forced on the league following the resignation of Hook Norton from Division 1 West and Hungerford Town’s decision to cancel their application to run a reserve side.

What’s happened at Ardley?

At the beginning of June, United’s chairman of 35 years Norman Stacey stood down.

Following the resignation, manager Paul Davies announced his decision to resign leaving the club on the lookout for both a chairman and management team.

On the Ardley website, Mr Stacey wrote: “It is with some regret that after 35 years as Chairman of Ardley United FC I feel it is now the time given my approaching 75th birthday and some family health problems to call it a day.

“I have seen this little village club climb from the Lord Jersey League through the Oxford Senior League and into the Premier of the Uhlsport Hellenic League, a journey which has been fraught with highs and lows along the way but one that has provided me with much pride and pleasure.”

Related: The key dates you need to know ahead of the 2017/18 season

What do the leagues look like now?

The Premier Division remains at 20 teams with the reprieve of Ardley, while Division 1 East has retained a healthy 14 sides and Division 1 West has 15.

Hellenic Premier

  • Abingdon United
  • Ascot United
  • Binfield
  • Brackley Town Saints
  • Bracknell Town
  • Brimscombe & Thrupp
  • Burnham
  • Fairford Town
  • Flackwell Heath
  • Highmoor-Ibis
  • Highworth Town
  • Longlevens AFC
  • Lydney Town
  • Oxford City Nomads
  • Royal Wootton Bassett Town
  • Thatcham Town
  • Tuffley Rovers
  • Wantage Town
  • Windsor
  • Woodley United

Related: ALL the pre season friendlies on our fixture calendar here

Hellenic League Division 1 East

  • AFC Aldermaston
  • Bicester Town
  • Chalfont Wasps
  • Chinnor
  • Didcot Town
  • Henley Town
  • Holyport
  • Milton United
  • Penn & Tylers Green
  • Sandhurst Town
  • Thame Rangers
  • Virginia Water
  • Wallingford Town
  • Wokingham & Emmbrook

Hellenic League Division 1 West

  • Ardley United
  • Cheltenham Saracen’s
  • Cirencester Town Dev’
  • Clanfield
  • Easington Sports
  • Headington Amateur’s
  • Kidlington Reserves
  • Letcombe
  • New College Swindon
  • North Leigh Reserves
  • Pewsey Vale
  • Shortwood United Reserves
  • Shrivenham
  • Tytherington Rocks
  • Woodstock Town

We’ve setup a new WhatsApp group allowing you to debate the local football issues with like minded individuals. You can find out how to join it here.

Related Topics
Football in Berkshire is a not for profit site run by volunteers. We feel though that sometimes people need rewarding for the hard work they put in and we wanted to let you know you can support our contributors individually if you so wish. Contributors to this article are as follows:
More Stories

1 thought on “Revisions made to 2017/18 Hellenic Football League constitutions”

  1. Pingback: All the 2017/18 local non league football league constitutions - Football in Bracknell

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More Stories

Our Supporters


Get the latest Berkshire football news to your inbox
Search Football in Berkshire