The 2017/18 Allied Counties Youth League constitution and why the champions have dropped down

Sandhurst Town lift the Allied Counties Youth League Premier Division. Photo: Paul.



Sandhurst Town lift the Allied Counties Youth League Premier Division. Photo: Paul.


At Monday nights Allied Counties Youth League AGM the clubs discussed and agreed upon the constitution of it’s five divisions with one major surprise concerning the champions Sandhurst Town.

The Fizzers, despite winning the title on a tense final night of the 2016/17 season have chosen to take a step down to the Central Division and compete in a division full of their neighbours.

We spoke to chairman Tony Dean at the time of the repeated vandalism as Bottom Meadow and he suggested at the time the club might take the decision due to the age of their championship winning side and the club have since confirmed this is the case.

Sandhurst told us: “I can confirm that the decision to move to the Central Division was owing to the fact that the vast majority of last years playing squad are now ineligible, meaning we’re starting a new cycle with new players and it’d be a difficult task to compete in the Premier Division with a brand new squad and new management team.”

The AGM confirmed the league will expand to five divisions with a ‘North’ Division 1 added, at the same time moving the East Berkshire clubs in to the Central Division from the South which was won by Binfield last season who have also elected to remain as a Division 1 side.

Here’s the full constitution for the 2017/18 Allied Counties Youth League:

Premier Division

  • Abbey Rangers
  • Aylesbury
  • Harefield United
  • Maidenhead United
  • Marlow
  • North Greenford United
  • Oxford City
  • Uxbridge
  • Westfield

Central Division

  • Ascot United
  • Binfield
  • Bracknell Town
  • Camberley Town
  • Hartley Wintney
  • Highmoor-IBIS
  • Sandhurst Town
  • Thatcham Town

East Division

  • CB Hounslow United
  • Chalfont St Peter
  • Colney Heath
  • Flackwell Heath
  • Hanwell Town
  • Holmer Green
  • Wembley
  • Windsor

South Division

  • Alton
  • Ash United
  • Cove
  • Fleet Spurs
  • Fleet Town
  • Frimley Green
  • Guildford City
  • Knaphill
  • Walton & Hersham

North Division

  • Banbury United
  • Buckingham Athletic
  • Carterton
  • Clanfield
  • Didcot Town
  • Kidlington
  • Thame United
  • Winslow United

We’ve setup a new WhatsApp group allowing you to debate the local football issues with like minded individuals. You can find out how to join it here.

Good read? Share this story:

Have you listened to our podcast?

Related Topics
Football in Berkshire is a not for profit site run by volunteers. We feel though that sometimes people need rewarding for the hard work they put in and we wanted to let you know you can support our contributors individually if you so wish. Contributors to this article are as follows:
More Stories

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More Stories

Our Supporters


Search Football in Berkshire

Drop your email address below to subscribe to the Football in Berkshire newsletter.